Faith, Hope, & Love

Standard

So it’s been about a week since I got my first tattoo: a symbol on my left wrist. A cross for Faith, a lifeline beat for Hope, and a heart for Love; they all connect together (picture below). A special person in my life went with me when I got this done. She had encouraged me to get this particular tattoo for months and was even planning on getting it with me. When we walked in and made my appointment, I still couldn’t believe it but I was beyond excited. At Totem Tattoo here in Williamsport I was so thankful that Aaron was the artist who inked me. He made my first tattoo experience great and we ended up having a wonderful conversation about each other’s stories after. Looking down at my first tattoo with Demi’s “Warrior” blasting in the background, I felt truly blessed.

Anyway, if you want to know more details about my tattoo I would love to chat with you about it in person some time. The real reason for this new blog is to provide you with real life examples of why this tattoo means so much to me. Now every day I wake up and I have a reminder on me that faith, hope, and love are why I am here. Throughout the day, I look down at my wrist and I am reminded that faith, hope, and love are what keep me strong when I feel weak. When I feel exhausted and overwhelmed, frustrated and lost, this symbol keeps me going. Jesus keeps me going. I continue to have Faith that I will get all my schoolwork that I need to get done daily accomplished. I continue to have Faith that God has a plan for me. I even continue to have Faith that I will be able to find clothes that fit me for my internship soon (this happened earlier tonight and I hate shopping). I have Faith in recovery, and in my community, friends, and family. Without Faith, I wouldn’t be here today.

Next up is Hope. This specifically struck my heart this past Wednesday, September 10th: World Suicide Prevention Day. In a week I will be participating in a walk dedicated to the awareness of suicide with other students and faculty from Lycoming. This past Wednesday I was reminded that Hope actually exists. It lies in the path of someone who thinks they are useless, unloved, unwanted, and ready to give up but just won’t. Hope lies in the heart of someone who is trying so hard not to harm themselves, harm others, or even take their own life. Hope is within Jesus and Hope is within you and me. As you can see in my tattoo, the lifeline plummets to its lowest point but miraculously increases once again to keep living. I’ve been at my lowest point before, which was full of toxins, sin, and negativity; however, I didn’t give up and I leaned on this sense of Hope to get me through each day. Now, just like my tattoo, I am gaining enough strength to rise above the mess again. Life is going to be hard and seem like a roller-coaster at times but luckily I have Faith and Hope by my side to lead me right to Love.

Today in church we were reminded of the most powerful, unconditional, and amazing love there is: our Father’s love. God’s love is eternally free and no person or thing can ever take it away from us. Hearing this today made my heart happy because Love is so important to me. Without it, similar to Faith & Hope, I really wouldn’t be here today. When I was at an all time low, I survived by the Love of the other people in my life who genuinely cared about me. I survived by the Love of Jesus. I survive daily because of God’s love. I survive daily by the Love I receive from people in my life who still do genuinely care about me. Love is so miraculous; I can barely put the feeling into words. I hope you have your own definition of Love and you learn to realize how vital it is. Our bodies are made up of sixty something percent of water, right? We literally need H two O to survive. I believe the same thing is with love. People need other people; love goes a long way; and Jesus can show us what that beautiful Love feels like. If you don’t believe that you are loved, please come talk to me.

I am so thankful that I am able to wake up every day now and see this symbol of strength on a place where weakness once was expressed. I apologize if this didn’t make a whole lot of sense, I just wanted to type my thoughts out 🙂 I pray that you lean on Faith, Hope, and Love as much as you can daily. ❤

Stay strong and remember what 1 Corinthians 13:13 says  “And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

tattoo

One thought on “Faith, Hope, & Love

  1. Karen

    Thank you for your words. I love your tattoo. My son took his own life a few months ago and I want one like this but want to put peace in there instead of hope , any suggestions? Thanks Karen

    Like

Leave a Reply

