Bad For Me

Standard

If I were to ask you right now to name something that is bad for you, what would you say? It can be anything: physical, emotional, and/or mental. We all suffer from a certain sin that is bad for us (because we are human.) Whether it be some form of addiction, not eating right, talking to the wrong guy/girl, etc. We want to please ourselves in the time being but afterwards we want to scream out loud and we hate ourselves for going back to something so unhealthy. Isn’t that crazy? We do recognize how awful it is yet we insist on going back to it over and over again. The human mind can be very manipulating. The song “Bad For Me” by Megan and Liz reminded me of this topic I thought I should blog about. I can relate to this song, as I’m sure other people unfortunately can too.

The chorus starts off with these lyrics:

“Cause you make me feel so right, Even if it’s so wrong. I wanna scream out loud, Boy, but I just bite my tongue.”

Do you see something wrong with that?

Satan can trick us into thinking something makes us feel “so right” for only a certain matter of time…even though WE KNOW that this particular sin is “so wrong.” And then the result of that would be: “I wanna scream out loud” but instead of doing so (therefore making our sin visible to the world) we just bite our tongues and keep the secret inside. Is that healthy in any way, shape, or form? I don’t think so. & I know that actually RECOGNIZING and ADMITTING to this crummy cycle is hard and it sucks so I’m here to remind you of something that isn’t bad for you…and that something is JESUS.

Jesus can actually make us feel good for the right reasons! He isn’t bad for us! He wants to walk with us through the times that we want to scream out loud and cry on someone’s shoulder. And He especially does not want us to bite our tongues. He is there for us no matter what, every second of every day. Instead of holding sin (that Satan tries to convince us is good when it really isn’t) inside and running back to it when we feel most vulnerable or worthless, Jesus wants us to confess it to him and allow him to help us. We cannot handle what is bad for us alone. We need other people and we need Jesus. No matter the circumstances, how hard life gets, or how much you have sinned, God wants to protect, love, and save you through Jesus. He is understanding and full of grace, which we all need. What we don’t need is that addiction that makes us feel unworthy. What we don’t need is that mindset of food making everything better. What we don’t need is that guy or girl who only causes harm to our hearts. Jesus is healthy and almighty; He is never “yes, no, or maybe.” He is “I’m right here, right now, ready to help you through whatever battle you are fighting.” God is good all the time and I pray that whoever reads this, you start to weed out the bad in your life. Faith in God means faith in His timing, which is never easy (patience is another blog yet to come), but trust me when I tell you that He is GREATER than WHATEVER is bad for you.

Leave a Reply

