Human

Standard

How many of you know the song “Human” by Christina Perri? I heard it today and because of Robin Williams’ death recently it made me think. I don’t know much about Christina Perri (say as I would about Demi) but I think this song is a perfect example of someone living with depression.

“I can fake a smile. I can force a laugh. I can dance and play the part. If that’s what you ask. I can do it but I’m only human.”
“I can turn it on. Be a good machine. I can hold the weight of worlds. If that’s what you need. I can do it. I’ll get through it but I’m only human.”

We shouldn’t have to fake or force or turn on anything that’s not us. Society frowns upon depression and the world is scared to talk about it. But guess what, just like Christina Perri says: we do bleed, we do fall down, we do crash, and we do break down. We are hurt daily by words and thoughts and actions. BECAUSE WE ARE HUMAN. We mess up and sin and we can only take so much. We are human beings and we need each other to help and love and take care of one another because if we don’t, that is when people have had enough. That is when people break down and feel unworthy of life. And this breaks my heart. Depression shouldn’t be something we have to hide. Saying “I suffer from depression” shouldn’t be embarrassing. Robin Williams was an incredible man who proved that laughter really is the best medicine; however, his illness got the best of him. If you are suffering from depression, I will be the first one to tell you that it is OKAY and that getting help is OKAY because YOU ARE HUMAN and YOU ARE LOVED.

❤ {88} ❤

Leave a Reply

